28 replies to this topic

#1 Geoffrey & Brenda

Geoffrey & Brenda

Commodore

• Moderators
  • 835 posts
  • LocationLawrence Kansas

Posted 27 January 2011 - 08:21 PM

Hi All, i'm new to pontoon boats, but have had ski boats in the past. As many things about pontooning are similar to other types the one thing that crossed my mind is that my old mushroom anchor probably won't do the job. So i am looking for advise from you seasoned pontoon owners, what is the best anchor[s] for my 20' pontoon? Shall we start a poll? We'll look forward to hearing your opinions! Thanks Geoffrey & Brenda

#2 sparkdr220

sparkdr220

Admiral

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 97 posts

Posted 28 January 2011 - 03:21 AM

Hi All, i'm new to pontoon boats, but have had ski boats in the past. As many things about pontooning are similar to other types the one thing that crossed my mind is that my old mushroom anchor probably won't do the job. So i am looking for advise from you seasoned pontoon owners, what is the best anchor[s] for my 20' pontoon? Shall we start a poll? We'll look forward to hearing your opinions! Thanks Geoffrey & Brenda

It depends on the ground you are anchoring to. We have a mud bottom and use a fluke type. Hope this helps.

#3 fishcop

fishcop

Deck Hand

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 January 2011 - 12:44 AM

Deckhand, I have a 22ft pontoon and I use the "box" anchor. It opens up to form a box and has "teeth" that grab the bottom. I have found that it holds in all types of bottoms and works well in the wind. There are 3 sizes. I have the small size and it works quite well. Hope this helps you some.

#4 hawk00

hawk00

Captain

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • LocationN E Iowa

Posted 30 January 2011 - 12:56 AM

I use a 20LB navy anchor but have 100ft of 5/8 nylon rope attached in case i would need it

#5 Clark

Clark

Admiral

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 78 posts
  • LocationWhite Lake, MI

Posted 01 February 2011 - 01:10 PM