21slx prop suggestion

Kane

Reaction score
Hey guy,

Im new to pontoons... I just traded my Crownline in for a 2015 Bennington 21slx tri toon with a Yamaha 115 4 stroke. So far Im loving it with no regrets. I was ready to make the change.

Only thing wrong is Im not sure this motor is proped right. Im not sure whats on it as I type this. I assume its stamped on the prop and Ill check it out tomorrow but its clearly not a pontoon prop. I ran the GPS today and was only getting 22mph. that seems way low. Ive seen reports of the setup getting 30 to 35 mph.

any prop suggestions.

I purchased the yamaha stainless pontoon prop 14" 13p for a 22 slx with yammi 115 4 stroke. I can get 34 on gps with 2 persons aboard with the bimini open! If I have 4 people it drops to around 30 if everyone is in the back seats. Did get 36 one day 1 person & dog .bimini closed. I have 2- 25" tubes w/ lifting strakes.

Hey guy,

Im new to pontoons... I just traded my Crownline in for a 2015 Bennington 21slx tri toon with a Yamaha 115 4 stroke. So far Im loving it with no regrets. I was ready to make the change.

Only thing wrong is Im not sure this motor is proped right. Im not sure whats on it as I type this. I assume its stamped on the prop and Ill check it out tomorrow but its clearly not a pontoon prop. I ran the GPS today and was only getting 22mph. that seems way low. Ive seen reports of the setup getting 30 to 35 mph.

any prop suggestions.
We need to know what hull you have first, and if you have strakes and how many.

I have the express performance package tri toon. Im not sure how many strakes

Does the boat sit in the water or out when you are not using it?  Scum can cut speed in half.

What are the engine RPMs at WOT?

You should look to see if it has strakes on the inside, outside or both sides of the outer toons (Express will have strakes on both sides of the center toon) and check your prop pitch and diameter next time you are at your boat.