Battery Question

Dev75

Reaction score
NYS Finger Lakes Region - Skaneateles Lake
Good morning everyone.  We picked up our boat from storage in mid April thinking we would have it in the water by now but the weather is not looking good for our area.  Add in the record rainfall and many marinas will be flooded for who knows how long.  Since the boat will probably be sitting at our house for the next few weeks, possibly more, is there anything I should be doing to keep the batteries fresh?  Should I have a trickle charger on them?  I have very little knowledge in this area.  

If your boat is only going to sit for a few weeks the batteries should be fine if they're relatively charged up already.  If it's longer than that than a trickle charger (Battery Tender) is fine to use.  I have a ProMariner battery charger permanently mounted in my boat  and even with that I only top off my batteries a couple times a year in the cooler months.  I'm very wary about just leaving a battery charger on and forgetting about it.  I charge the batteries to full then disconnect the charger.  My buddy left his Battery Tender on for about a month and I was with him when he went over to his boat and discovered one of his batteries had exploded.  Battery acid everywhere including the interior.  I'm surprised it didn't start a fire.

Last edited by a moderator:
I pull my batteries one at a time and put them on my workbench to charge for a full day.  I use my automotive battery charger and set it for 10 amp charge.  I've only had to do this 2x, but it's not a bad idea to do so once/year.

I like to monitor their progress under my supervision.  Wouldn't leave them alone.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the responses!

Yeah a couple weeks should not be a problem.I generally pull mine in the winter time although since I had warranty work done this year i did not.