Black and Blackout Boats

CapKaz

Reaction score
Cedar Hill, MO / Mark Twain Lake Perry, MO
All,

Dont mean to question what folks like in color and style, but I just don't get the black thing. Seems like this is the new norm. So with this new trend, a few questions. Does the black Bimini draw heat and radiate it to those below? Do that black panels and blackout rails get hot to the touch? I have always purchased light vehicles because they don't appear to look dirty as fast as dark vehicles, and I don't want to get  a vehicle that attracts heat due to its color. I have no experience with black so I can't state an opinion. But I would like to understand this trend.

Once again not trying to be judgmental, just trying to grasp this trend.

Last edited by a moderator:
I hear ya. I prefer white pearl vehicles myself. But..... I went to the boat builder and a white boat with blackout looks awesome also with red or blue accent panel.

Black rails cool to the touch when underway but gets hot sitting still in the sun, BUT, so did my silver, just not quite as hot. 

No, I don't feel any heat radiating down from my black bimini. When it's 95, sunny, and just brutal, opening the bimini makes it comfortable. A slight breeze ..... that's a bonus. 

Oh, and we also bought it to be different. Very doubtful any other crazy people on our lake willing to drop the extra $$$ on Blackout, but we are not normal .....  :D

I have solid black panels and Bimini now and haven't noticed any difference between it and our last one with light green panels and green Bimini.

It's all a matter of personal taste and style.  My boat is almost entirely black and white.   Love that look and it fits my personality and style  (if I have any:)).  As for the heat, most all will cook you if it sits in the sun for 5 hours straight.   I've had black biminis on all of my boats, and it is not an issue at all.