Blackout Package - how well does it hold up?

azray007

Reaction score
Good day everyone!  I started a post but being a newbie, my topics and follow-up questions went all over the place.  I feel pretty good about my boat build except one lingering question.  The blackout package looks fantastic, but how well does it hold up?  Does it scratch easily and does it get too hot to the touch?  Any regrets from anyone who has the blackout option?

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to reply!

Good day everyone!  I started a post but being a newbie, my topics and follow-up questions went all over the place.  I feel pretty good about my boat build except one lingering question.  The blackout package looks fantastic, but how well does it hold up?  Does it scratch easily and does it get too hot to the touch?  Any regrets from anyone who has the blackout option?

As always, thank you so much for taking the time to reply!

I have the black out package.  I love the look.  Have had the boat for 1 month not.  Don't see any issues with scratching.  

Spar-toon, thank you for your response and I love the color combination.  Your toon looks mean, yet very classy!  

Don't laugh, but how do you think the rails would hold up if you were putting on and removing rod holders?  

Had ours for a year now. If hotter, it hasn't bothered anyone on our boat.

As far as scratches, Bennington's rails are all anodized, not painted or powder coated - even the blackout. Just black anodized instead of their standard clear anodize. For anodized aluminum, you would have to scratch into the metal to get beyond the black coating. So surface scratches and scuffs shouldn''t be an issue.

Pics in my gallery. We love ours and highly recommend if that's the look you're looking for.

Had ours for a year now. If hotter, it hasn't bothered anyone on our boat.