Boat build question

Hartwell Ski

Reaction score
Hey all - trying to finalize my Bennington build 22 LFB with a 200 Merc and stuck on a couple things:

I have the choice of mercury power steering at around two grand and power hydraulic assist at about three grand.
Which do I want?

Also getting the SPS package but have the option of sealed lifting strikes for about $800. Worth it?

and I am getting the power distribution panel. Do I also need the master power switch? Only getting one battery.

Thanks

I am also new to boating so I can pass along some advice other people gave me. With the sealed lifting strakes it is a good option especially if you were going from lake to lake or on a lake with invasive species. Less hiding spots for them to cling to.

The master power switch is nice because it is on your dash. I know with the dual batteries the power distribution is at the battery. You have to go adjust battery one or two or off. The master power switch may be more convenient since it is on the dash.

Sounds like you’re building a very nice boat. Make sure to keep us posted on how your build goes and show some pictures when it finally arrives. :)

I have the Mercury Power steering and it works great, you will love power steering if you've never had it. Only bad thing is It does make noise under the helm, but I think they all do.
I have a power switch under the rear seat and I keep forgetting to turn off the battery. I wish I had gotten the master switch on the dash.
If not in salt water or you stay on the same lake I don't think sealed lifting strakes are necessary.

Go with the cheaper Mercury Power Steering - it's also covered by Benny's 10 year warranty (when added at the factory).

The optional Master Power Switch is located on the dash and cuts power to all dash-controlled accessory switches, but still allows the motor to be started and operated...single switch to quickly kill the radio, lights, etc if the need arises.