Boat key

Murrman

Reaction score
I am new to boating so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. I just purchased a 2014 Bennington 22SSX and love it thus far. I'm learning a lot and practicing as much as I can before I take it out on a crowded weekend. My question is it came with 1 key. Is that normal or should I get another one made? Of course I had other more important questions but have found answers. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum Murrman! Yup have another key made and keep it in a safe place. Did they give you another key to lock the helm? Also put both keys on a ring that has the ability to float in case you drop it in the water...

Didn't even think about a floating key ring! Like I said I've been an RV'er and just switched since moving to Florida. Can you get a key made just about anywhere they make them, like Home Depot? I did not get any other keys. Thanks. Btw a good friend lives in Mooresville and joined the Freedom Boat club at Lake Norman!

To be honest I've never had a boat key made. The dealer we got our boat from gave us 2 of each. We know the Freedom boat club well. It is based at the local Bennington dealership on our lake where we fuel up.They sell their inventory of top quality rental boats both pontoon and bowriders after a certain # of hours. I've seen them they are top quality. How long has your friend lived here? And where do you boat in Florida???

If it’s a YAMAHA key, it will have a number on it such as 753. Just order a spare or two on eBay. That’s what I did. Cost me like $5 each.

I got 2 from my dealer and then bought another one for the marina at their request. All 3 have the Bennington floating keychain, which you can find online.

Mercury keys are all so numbered. I just called my dealer and ordered another one. I think it was $15 for a verado key.
Keep one hid on the boat somewhere. I didn’t and one day when I thought I was going to go for an evening cruise we got to the marina and the keys were in my truck at home.