Complete Noob with Bennington Fever

Irie_Vibes

Reaction score
Hello all!
Well...due to Covid and the job I have, I am fortunate to now be able to work from home full-time. This has enabled my wife and I to try to realize some of our retirement goals sooner than later including to moving to a waterfront home and getting a boat. We've had a ton of fun just researching all the different options and learning about boating in general since I am a complete noob to boating even though I've been a Florida boy all my life. I appreciate this forum as it has already helped me narrow down some of my options and answered many of my questions already, though I still have many more and I'm sure there are questions I do not even know to ask yet.

We will be moving to a home right on a canal that leads straight out to the Gulf. The house has a floating dock and no boat lift. It's on a wide canal that I believe is deep because on the other side of the canal is a large marina (just guessing). I do not know if the canal floor is muddy, rocky, or whatever. The location is in Hudson, FL, and our boating goals are primarily leisure boating, finding sandbars/islands to stop at to chill, grill, have fun. Most of the time it will just be my wife and me in the boat, though I'm sure there will be times with friends/family as well. I don't know if it's realistic or not, but I would also like the ability to boat from Hudson to Clearwater/St. Pete area as well, which is around 60 miles or so. There is no need for pulling skiers or anything like that. I will not be going out "deep sea" or anything like that.

I would like to have some confirmation on some of my initial purchasing thoughts: