Docking Boat

Bunnster

Reaction score
 Just purchased my first pontoon boat, 24 ft SSRX.   I am new to docking in either slips or just pulling all along side of a dock. Do you guys have any suggestions that will help me learn how to dock a boat?   I went out yesterday and practiced on a dock that is being built for a new home. My problem is figuring out how to come in to a dock at a 45° angle and turn in and have the stern go towards the dock.   I get more comfortable each time I go out with the basics but the docking part is not coming along as fast as I would like. 

Welcome. Did you take a boating safety course? Which ever way you steer the stern will do the opposite and the key is SLOW.

At least for me, rule number one is to go slow! Also helpful is to put your engine in neutral and then turn the wheel before applying power again. I'm pretty long and our marina is pretty narrow, so I actually make my turn into the slip, cut the power and then step off the bow onto the dock and guide it in the rest of the way. Some of my neighbors have smaller toons and just drive right in (more power to them). I was also new to the pontoon thing last year and found docking to be a bit more tricky than my bowrider, but practice makes perfect. Taking down your bimini top on windy days will also help as well.

Welcome, and post some pictures and specs!

Last edited by a moderator:
I always try to come in straight, but I  am on a windy lake, i have to come in under power most times. Most slips are set up for v hull boats so when you scratch your pontoons don't get too excited. If you pull along side a dock you can secure he front of the boat to a cleat, turn the motor towards the dock and idle in, works very well. Happy boating

If you pull along side a dock you can secure he front of the boat to a cleat, turn the motor towards the dock and idle in, works very well. Happy boating

Try this, but use reverse to pull the stern in, not forward pushing it.