GoPro Hero 3 camera on the Bennington

TomS

Reaction score
I recently bought a GoPro Hero 3 waterproof camera to use for various sports - boating, cycling, kayaking, etc. I'm just learning about it but I thought maybe some of you would be interested in how it works with a boat. The camera itself is very tiny, clamped inside the clear plastic case. Most often it is attached to the person in motion as it is wearable - a wakeboarder's helmet, skier, tuber, etc. I chose to start out by attaching it to the ski pylon with a 3/4" RAM roll bar mounting. It works great that way! I've used it to video tubers to the rear and just the boat in motion to the front as shown in demo videos below. The ball mount makes it easy to point it wherever you want. I also have a super suction cup RAM mount for the kayak which works great as long as the surface is smooth. Probably the hottest use of GoPro's right now is in personal drones - small and light quadcopters such as the DJI Phantom, which works nicely as long as you don't fly it into the water.

I also published videos for the first time on Vimeo so these are something of a test for me, about 1 minute each in 720p HD. The first is just an acceleration run to about 40mph. As you can tell, my new puppy was less than impressed with this exercise when I trimmed the motor up at 00:33, but he's getting the hang of it now. If I accelerate too quickly he slides on the Seagrass to the back, so I went easy on him.

https://player.vimeo.com/video/73948755If you have any questions about the GoPro I'll try to answer them. So far, good fun!

Thanks for sharing,,,,,I use one almost every day during the Winter....

Very cool. Our dealer started selling them earlier this year. They have become very popular.

Very cool. Our dealer started selling them earlier this year. They have become very popular.
Yes I actually bought mine at my dealer too and I even got a discount not available on Amazon!

Last edited by a moderator: