Hazy/Foggy windshield

keithkz

Reaction score
I have a tinted, polycarbonate windshield on my 1996 Moomba ski boat that is so foggy that you can't even see through it.  It is structurally perfect and doesn't have a single scratch in it.  I am assuming this is oxidation but I'm no expert.  Is there a product that can be used to restore this?  Replacing the windshield is crazy expensive and that's if you can even find one.

Last edited by a moderator:
Have you tried the polishing with a certain kind of toothpaste? I haven't tried it, but some people state that it works on the headlights and plastic eyeglasses. I believe it acts as a rubbing/polishing compound. You've got nothing to lose if it's a bad as you suggest.

http://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Scratches-From-Plastic-Lens-Glasses

Last edited by a moderator:
Not sure about toothpaste....

You want to buy Lexan polish...(Lexan is polycarbonate) .... or maybe even a kit that has several grits of polish

I think even Walmart sells the stuff

Meguiar's  stuff is usually good 

I'd try a small test area with the least abrasive stuff first.

I have an old bottle of RV type wax (that has cleaners in it) that is my go to test paste.

It usually works with 90% of the stuff I need shined up.

What's that stuff they use on headlights to clear them up?

There are products for the "glass" inserts of old convertible tops. I think it's similar to what LL mentioned for headlight lens restoration, though many of those are scams at best.

HERE is one from Griot's or try Meguiar's HERE

I use insect repellant such as Off. Spray it on a soft rag like a t-shirt and rub the wind shield or head light cover like you were waxing. You will be surprised at how well it cleans the oxidation.

I use insect repellant such as Off. Spray it on a soft rag like a t-shirt and rub the wind shield or head light cover like you were waxing. You will be surprised at how well it cleans the oxidation.

Interesting. Thanks for sharing...