Is SV Series Really No Haggle

Innsbrook

Reaction score
Hello all,
Just bought a lake house and looking to take the plunge into boating as well. Restrictions at my lake require electric and 16*8 max size. Was at the local dealer comparing an 16SVL to 16SL.
I do have a couple questions as I’m new to boats. Salesman added in a $660 hydraulic power lift for the Torqeedo engine and insisted I would need it? Also, little interest in haggling as I’d have to order since they don’t have either in stock. He said the SVL is no haggle price but did agree to knock off freight and prep. After perusing the forums looks like 15-25% discounts are normal so wondering if I should pursue another model or if the promotion on the SV is so good that they aren’t discounting much. Any experiences or advice would be appreciated.

Don’t fall for it, everything is negotiable. Especially now with Covid19 boat sales should slow considerably down and they’ll be paying juice on any unsold product. There is probably less margin on the lower end models but to say it’s no haggle means they’re checking your IQ.

For reference my SXP on order was somewhere around 28% off MSRP. And there’s still probably a lot of fat on that number. But these guys need to make a living - if the profit on one of these is $5k, think of how many boats they have to sell to make payroll, pay utilities and then pay themselves. If a low volume dealer it means they can’t give it away... so go find a high volume dealer to get best pricing.

Thank you for the advice. I will keep looking. Any recommendations out there of high volume dealers in the Midwest? Seems like there are some 2019 out there still but finding one in electric is probably a very low chance so I’ll probably be ordering one.

I don’t agree. Those SV models sell at very low prices. There is not much to negotiate.

I don’t agree. Those SV models sell at very low prices. There is not much to negotiate.