LED Lighting

bucktheplumber

Reaction score
First off i am new to this sight as we just purchased our first Bennington pontoon "first pontoon in general" We ended up getting a 18 23ssbxp twin toon with a 150 Yamaha with a SS 15x15 prop, sea legs, tow bar, changing room, hydro steering, and Lily pad diving board. We are very excited as we have young family and we know the kids will enjoy it. There are a lot of amazing people here with great ideas, I am looking to install new LED lighting on our new Benny as it did not come with it from the factory, I would like to install the lights on the back of the tubes under water is there any one who could recommend a brand or style that work good

I picked up the RBG lights from Amazon and the underwater lights from Academy Sports. I wasn't spending $350/light for those wake lights that I saw from some vendors.

I am fixing to add two more lights for the wake, so they will be twice as lit. They would be much brighter than the pic, but the water we boat in is muddy. :)

Lit wake.jpg RBG Lights.jpg

Anyone run into law enforcement issues when running with LED lights on their boats at night? The Coast Guard rules are somewhat vague and were written before the advent of LED lighting. This article seems to indicate the acceptance of them varies around the country. I opted not to have them on the outside of my new Bennington because locals said they technically are illegal to use when running. However, they do help being able to see the boat at night so you would think authorities would welcome them.... I'm waiting to see how it plays out and how many folks get ticketed for using them. http://www.pdbmagazine.com/2014/01/are-you-legal

That’s my thought, too, Millsey. The more”non-blinding” lights, the better to see the boat.