Low rpm

Pager

Reaction score
I have a 40 hp Yamaha on my 2017 toon with a 11 3/8 prop I can only get to about 3200 RPM wot. Took it to the shop they said they put in a tub and got over 6000 rpm wot. Went to the lake same thing 3200 rpm. Need help.

Is there is a way to adjust the throttle linkage on your boat.  Maybe someone more knowledgeable than me can comment on this.

I'm no rocket scientist, but I would think a prop in a tub of water is much different than a prop pushing a 2500+ lb. object. The prop gurus on here will chime in and get you straightened out ........

I'm not a prop guy but it sounds for all the world like you ended up with the wrong one. Lowering the pitch will increase your RPMs but in this case you might also need a smaller diameter as well. Obviously, the best thing would be for your dealer to send someone out for a real world test. Otherwise, perhaps take a video with your phone. Good luck!

Last edited by a moderator:
I take it this dealer is not on a body of water to get everyone together at once? Next time you're out take a video showing the throttle all the way down, and the tach. If a photo is worth 1000 words, a video should be worth....1015, 1017 maybe.

I have the same boat. Took delivery in early May. My prop is a 12.25 X 9g. My best rpm is 4800 at WOT. I am not happy with that. I think I need a smaller prop. I have 15.5 hrs and will take it in at 20 hrs. I noticed that the throttle arm is .25 inches off the throttle stop at WOT. I did not see how to adjust the linkage. This could be part of the problem. I agree that running the motor in a tube is not nearly the same as pushing a boat.

My best mph has been 16, with the Bimini top in place and the bow door closed. I think a 12 x 8 prop should be right. I have emailed Bennington so I can print their response and take it to my dealer. In your case I think you should check your linkage at WOT to see if it fully open.