Newbie- Prop on 20SLI w/ Yamaha 50Hp motor

acehiggy

Reaction score
I am new to boating with getting my first boat last year. I have a 2010 Bennington 20SLI with the Yamaha 50HP 4-stroke engine. I bought it new at the dealer and have no idea what prop the dealer put on it. It runs about 6000 RPM at full throttle. Does this sound like the correct prop for my setup. I was told max RPM was 6000 and I should never exceed it, is this correct?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Hi acehiggy, welcome to the forum! It sounds like you are propped correcly, as long as you don't exceed 6k rpm. I have a 20SLi as well, but only get 5500 rpm. I would like to know what your gps speed is and what prop you have. The numbers are stamped on the prop, let me know what you have! :)

Hi acehiggy, welcome to the forum! It sounds like you are propped correcly, as long as you don't exceed 6k rpm. I have a 20SLi as well, but only get 5500 rpm. I would like to know what your gps speed is and what prop you have. The numbers are stamped on the prop, let me know what you have! :)
I will check this weekend and let you know. Thanks for your reply.

I am new to boating with getting my first boat last year. I have a 2010 Bennington 20SLI with the Yamaha 50HP 4-stroke engine. I bought it new at the dealer and have no idea what prop the dealer put on it. It runs about 6000 RPM at full throttle. Does this sound like the correct prop for my setup. I was told max RPM was 6000 and I should never exceed it, is this correct?

Thanks in advance for your input.
I have almost exactly the same boat and I get 18mph with a 14x9p Mercury prop on my Yamaha High Thrust 50.

That's why i was asking, i have a Yamaha H.T. 50, 14inx13p, 5500 rpm 18mph, i thought if i went down on pitch i would gain rpm & mph?

Last edited by a moderator:
You should. A 14x12p might get you 20mph. I'm guessing you have 25" logs. (Mine are 23")

I will check this weekend and let you know. Thanks for your reply.