OK... looking for your thoughts

Buckman

Reaction score
We have a 2013 24SLX with express tube and a Yamaha 150. I am new to this, but something does not seem right about the performance. Even with a light load (2 adults) the best speed (GPS) we have obtained is 28.9 MPH with a 1/2 tank of fuel. When we are tubing and taking corners, the speed drops from 18 MPH to 10 MPH BOOM! There is tons of cavitation. Have verified with the dealer that it is the 'right prop' for the motor and the pontoon (Yamaha Reliance Series 15-M 14 1/2) But with my level of experience they could tell me that the fastest speed should be 22 MPH and that I am getting amazing performance out of it and I wouldn't have the experience to know I was being steered wrong. :huh: Which is why I am asking for thoughts and ideas from those with much more experience! Oh forgot to add that it seems the boat sits quite low in the water on the backside like the darn thing is 'Butt Heavy'. There are lots of other pontoons at our dock that do not sit in the water like ours... they are all pretty level but they are regular pontoons... ours is the only triple (with the express tube that is)

Last edited by a moderator:
My thoughts: The express tube from whar I understand is shorter than the outer tubes which brings the bow up. Do you have strakes? While running, do you trim up the motor or is it all the way down? While taking turns the motor, if trimmed up has to be lowered. With that, I think your boat is too slow. What is your WOT?

My thoughts: The express tube from whar I understand is shorter than the outer tubes which brings the bow up. Do you have strakes? While running, do you trim up the motor or is it all the way down? While taking turns the motor, if trimmed up has to be lowered. With that, I think your boat is too slow. What is your WOT?