Power question with increased hp

Oldchuck

Reaction score
Trying to get a handle on how speed increases with a given amount of horsepower increase. My question: Looking at the 115 Yamaha engine and know that the SHO with another 300 rpm available produces a bit more HP and wondering at the top end with any of the performance packages IF you would see any noticeable gain with say a 8-12 HP increase? With the price of only a few hundred more and if you saw an increase of say 1.5 or 2 mph that it would be a good buy. However, I doubt the engine makes any more midrange power so it would just be at WOT if needed...

I'm no expert, but I just went thru this myself. Based on what I learned going from a 115 to a 150, or 150 to a 200 or a 200 to a 250 are all nice gains and you'd gain a few mph and better performance. Spending the extra money to go from say a 150 to a 175 or a 200 to a 225 might be a disappointing upgrade for the money spent.

I remember reading in 2010 while researching a bass boat the 2 stroke 200hp Mercury Opti Max was about 212hp - 216hp on the dyno and the 225 was 222hp - 225hp. In that case spending the extra $$ on the 225 would be a very small improvement and not wise IMO.

Another story; this last winter while shopping for a pontoon I asked a sales manager if it was worth it to upgrade to to a 225hp from a 200hp (Yamaha). He told me about a year ago his Yamaha Rep noticed how many 225's they were selling and told him it was a waste of $$, because the 200 was almost as strong.

I think the manufacturing rule is an engine only has to be within 10% of the advertised HP. Based on how the ratings are rounded off (so to speak) for marketing reasons, some engines are stronger than others.

Baja,