Prop info

Richard Wing

Reaction score
I am new to boating I currently have a 2016 Bennington ssrx with a 90 Yamaha.
The Max RPM I get is between 4200 and 4300.
From what I researched I'm supposed to be between 5500 and 5800 RPMs. The prop I have on the motor is a 13.25 X 17. I have called two different dealers and found the ballpark but 13 and 5/8 X 14 or a 14 X 14. My question to y'all would I increase speed or would this make my boat go slower going down in prop size.
FYI max speed for my boat is 20 miles an hour.

From what I researched I'm supposed to be between 5500 and 5800 RPMs. The prop I have on the motor is a 13.25 X 17. I have called two different dealers and found the ballpark but 13 and 5/8 X 14 or a 14 X 14. My question to y'all would I increase speed or would this make my boat go slower going down in prop size.

Looks like you are way over proped with a 17p on the 90 Yamaha. I don’t even have that size on my motor (200hp) Your motor is working too hard to turn it, and that’s why you are so low on RPM’s. That is not good on your motor at all, so you need to go down in prop/pitch to do right by that motor. Frankly, I think you will pick up a little bit of speed because your motor would be spinning the new right sized prop better.

I think you will still be too large with a 14p, but I am not familiar with those sized motors either. My guess would be more of an 11-13p. Hopefully some others with a 90HP can chime in with their prop size for comparison purposes.

That would be beneficial for me if somebody else can chime in on their 90 horsepower just so I can do a general comparison

What size is your boat? I have a 2575 with a Yamaha F100 and run a 4 blade 13 pitch solas. My boat is big and heavy but I can hit 23mph on GPS with me, my 11 year old son and a full tank of gas.

FYI max speed for my boat is 20 miles an hour.[/QUOTE