Second Full or Auxiliary Battery

Brian105

Reaction score
Hi I am new to boating and bought my first pontoon in May. I’m having a blast. I do get concerned that I’m going to wear down the battery when we anchor and listen to music etc. Should I install a second full battery? Has anyone seen or can Marinas offer smaller auxiliary batteries that would take up less space?

Thanks in advance for your Thoughts .

If you play music a lot while drifting or on anchor the only way you will achieve peace of mind is to get a second battery. We have one and no more worries about a dead battery. Probably would go with the same size battery as you already have for reasons someone smarter than me can explain. I think my dealer installed mine near two years ago along with a switch and wiring etc. for around $300.00. Btw welcome to the forum and to Bennington. Tell us about yourself and your boat and of course the more pictures the better.

Thanks very much Mike.
I retired in November, moved to a townhouse on a Fox River marina in Port Barrington Illinois in December.
My wife Karen and I took delivery on a 2018 23SSRXD with an extended deck powered by a Yamaha 150. Still figuring it all out but getting assistance and great advice from Ty and all of the boating community at Port Barrington Motor Sports Marina and The No Wake Bar and Grill. Stop by and I’ll by you a cocktail or 10 .
Thanks again

Or buy a Battery jump pack in case your battery goes dead. We just bought a Stanley Fat Max Power station from Sam's Club. We don't leave the dock without it......

For most of us with "basic" stereo systems, the question of whether to add a second battery really boils down to your level of risk tolerance. My previous boat had a single battery and I could sit at the sandbar for a good portion of the afternoon and still be able to fire up the engine to go home.