Sticker Shock!

Stevez

Reaction score
Hello all. I've enjoyed reading thread in this forum very much. I don't have a Bennington pontoon, nor any boat for that matter now. I've been boating for many years and have owned a Cobalt runabout and a Sweetwater pontoon. Sold our place at the lake 3 years ago and we are missing it greatly now. We rented a pontoon at a lake in Kentucky a few weeks ago and really got the bug back. I've always wanted a Bennington as I like quality and believe them to be great, well made, top quality boats. That's been reinforced here. I'm in the studying/learning phase but when I've priced new boats on Bennington's website I must say I've been shocked and surprised at how much they are. I simply didn't think pontoons could be that much! But these are absolutely gorgeous boats and I will have one shortly. I bought my Cobalt brand new in 1997 and they were very expensive then. I'm like the old guy that still thinks gas should be .25/.50 cents per gallon. Anyway, great stuff here.

By the way, any general thoughts on how much dealers discount off the MSRP that is calculated on the Bennington website? Do they tend to sell at dealers for that or some discount off? Even a range would be helpful. Thanks all. Steve

20% seems like a good average. Sometimes more if the dealer is desperate to sell a boat. Less if it's a seller's market. If you get less, don't worry about it. It's driven by the market (location, time of year, demand, etc). Playing a couple dealers off each other worked for me, but I ended up buying a boat 100 miles away. Course the alternative was 70 miles away! Good luck!

Last edited:
My experience and what I have seen quoted on this site is between 20 - 30%