subwoofer

I haven't done it yet, but a powered sub should work well on your boat. I have a few odds and ends around from the kid's cars over the past few years, and was going to add an amp and 2 8" subs under the control stand. We'll see how that works out. Along with that, i felt it would be a good idea to add that second battery, between the stereo and an added amp, I don't want to have to worry about a dead battery when it's time to call it a day. I'll post some pics when i get going on it.

Yea, your'e right, but i don't plan on having any water that high on my boat! You can pay extra for marine grade, but if you buy quality car audio, it works just fine. And you have a lot more choices. Take a look at your Sony head unit, that's car audio.

What about speakers, I have a second boat that I was thinking of putting a stereo in and was hoping to get by with some car speakers. If I get caught in the rain will it ruin them?

Hi Finchlake, while i'm not an audio expert, i have had car audio speakers in the last two ski boats that we have had. Todays speakers are made of better materials than those of the past, no more 'cardboard' cones and pleated paper surrounds. Most are made with either polypropylene or aluminun cones and rubberized surrounds, making them water resistent just because of the materials used. So look at what the speakers are made of when choosing, and ask your salesperson about that as well. You will also want to mount them so it would minimize their exposure to the elements. All this is just my opinion based on what i've done in the past, but it always worked with no problems.