The best anchor

Geoffrey & Brenda

Reaction score
Hi All, i'm new to pontoon boats, but have had ski boats in the past. As many things about pontooning are similar to other types the one thing that crossed my mind is that my old mushroom anchor probably won't do the job. So i am looking for advise from you seasoned pontoon owners, what is the best anchor for my 20' pontoon? Shall we start a poll? We'll look forward to hearing your opinions! Thanks Geoffrey & Brenda

Hi All, i'm new to pontoon boats, but have had ski boats in the past. As many things about pontooning are similar to other types the one thing that crossed my mind is that my old mushroom anchor probably won't do the job. So i am looking for advise from you seasoned pontoon owners, what is the best anchor for my 20' pontoon? Shall we start a poll? We'll look forward to hearing your opinions! Thanks Geoffrey & Brenda
It depends on the ground you are anchoring to. We have a mud bottom and use a fluke type. Hope this helps.

Deckhand, I have a 22ft pontoon and I use the "box" anchor. It opens up to form a box and has "teeth" that grab the bottom. I have found that it holds in all types of bottoms and works well in the wind. There are 3 sizes. I have the small size and it works quite well. Hope this helps you some.

I use a 20LB navy anchor but have 100ft of 5/8 nylon rope attached in case i would need it

I only anchor at our lake's sandbar, and my fluke anchor won't hold on windy days. So I made a T out of 4" PVC and push that into the sand and it holds great, and I can tie to it with a short rope so no swinging into other boats.

Your mushroom anchor should work for a mud bottom lake, but you may need to use a 20lb. :)

I just purchased a slide box anchor. It is a little expensive compared to other anchors but the reviews were very good especially for sandy bottom lakes. I think a decent size fluke anchor works pretty well as long as you use a chain with it. Just my .02.