Towing Vehicles?? What do you recommend?

CD Chandler

Reaction score
I am new to towing a pontoon boat. I just got a new Bennington 20SL pontoon. I dont have a tow vehicle yet and I am looking into other options than the usual. I hear mixed reactions

to a Ford Explorer, Chevy Traverse, or Acura MDX .would either of these tow it safely or do I need to go another direction. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
OK, first things first.

How much does your boat and trailer weigh? NOT an estimate. Most people are unpleasantly surprised as to how much the actual weight is vs. estimated weight. Fill it with gear, fuel, coolers, etc. and weigh it. A local grain elevator or any business that needs to weigh full and empty trucks will have what you need. Our local scrap metal recycler has one. Go during a NOT busy time and they should oblige your request. Unhook it from the vehicle and weigh it. This will give you the number you need to compare with the maximum towing capacity of the vehicle you are considering.

Next, how far are you planning on towing and under what conditions? Is it 3 blocks to the ramp? Or 300 miles. Are you making the trip once a year or weekly (or more?) Hilly terrain or flat? Highway or 2 lane roads? All this is important.

Find out the maximum towing capacity of the vehicles you are considering. A dealer can help you. Google may help, too. Remember that some vehicles have special towing packages that add larger brakes, transmission oil coolers, increased radiator capacity, trailer wire harnesses, etc. One vehicle without the package may have a 1500# maximum and the same vehicle with tow package may have 4000# maximum. It's not practical to "add" a tow package, so shop accordingly. Also remember that just because a vehicle has a trailer hitch installed does NOT mean it has a towing package.