Trailer Choice Help

Armycopter

Reaction score
I am new to pontoon boats but I bought a 20SL recently without a trailer. I am going to look at two trailers tomorrow. A single axle without brakes and a dual axle with brakes. The guy selling the trailers say you don’t usually need brakes with a 20 foot pontoon boat (70HP motor). Is that true? My last fishing boat (22 foot walk around) had a single axle but it had surge brakes.

Going to look early tomorrow am so I appreciate any feedback. Thank you!

Depends on state laws. Depending on where you live, what you’re towing with and how far you plan to tow will help determine what is best.

Thank you for the reply. I have a 3/4 ton truck with a 6.4L engine. I will likely be towing a couple of weekends per month during the summer anywhere from 10-30 miles from my home. I think our state requires brakes on loads over 4500 lbs. The boat, motor, gear weigh approx 2500 lbs (rough calc). Not sure what the trailer itself weighs but its steel not alum or galvanized.

Tandem axle with surge brakes would be my vote. More stable tracking and secure knowing a blowout tire will be less tramatic with another axle/tire to support weight. It will cost more than the single axle for sure.

The one issue I forgot to mention is that the tandem trailer he has is for a 24 not a 20. He said it will work but I am not so sure. Seems like it would be too long and cause issues with the tongue weight.

If the axles are adjustable, then you can probably dial it in for the proper tongue weight, if the articulation range is there to do it.

Getting a tandem axle is always the better choice, in my opinion.

Brakes are a must, no matter what size pontoon, because they are heavy boats, so protect that investment with everything you can throw at it.