What do you do?

lakeliving

Reaction score
I don't think this has come up formally so I figured lets get something started. I'm always amazed at all the different jobs and career paths out there. This will also be a good place to brag about being retired as well!

I'll start. I'm an Insurance Analyst for a large public gas/electic utility here in MI. My day to day includes securing, negotiating and handling insurance policies and their associated losses/claims for power generation, commercial auto, cyber liability and even some industrial banking exposures. It's exciting to get out of the office and see the various methods of power generation. My favorite is the old (100+ year old) hydro facilities on a river in northern Michigan.

I manage a "smaller" building material location. It's the original office though from 1916, so that's the cool part. I also do sales, maintenance, janitorial, deliveries, plowing, mowing, whatever it takes ......  :lol:  I love the customer interaction on a daily basis. I'm also a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt so that keeps me busy too.  :ph34r:

I am Senior Vice President, Managing Director of Employee Relations at Citibank where I have worked for 19 years. My team is responsible for conducting investigations of employee misconduct. Last year over over 1,500 investigations. Also worked in the automotive parts industry in  various Human Resourses positions for 11 years. First job was cutting lawns and then moved in to  bus boy and landscaper before college.

Last edited by a moderator:
Airline pilot. Six years to go! Started in the military, made the switch to the airline world almost30 years ago. Bev retired from a major automaker after 25 years in their accounting division, and continues to work part time for them as a consultant. 

I try to be as part time as possible (especially in the summer). My strategy is to basically retire, but not actually tell the airline.