winterizing boat 2575 rcw io

It is a pretty big deal with the I/O. All the water in the engine and manifolds and outdrive needs to be drained. Then refilled with an antifreeze. There are drain plugs that have to opened. There is not much room in the engine bay to access the plugs. I was an ASE certified mechanic and I don't do the winterizing on our boat. The cost of service on the I/O is an issue. I love mine but have factored in the extra expenses when I bought it. It does not have to go back to a Bennington Dealer to get winterized but I would make sure the shop knows what they are doing.

Yeah, hate to say it, but this IS NOT a good service to try to save a couple bucks, try local or bite the bullet and drive the distance. Couiple hundred now could save you THOUSANDS later .......

Where are you located ?

Hmmm, so do the negatives out weigh the positives with I/O? I've been contemplating if I did manage to buy a new boat if I would like the inboard. Maybe I should start a new thread.

Hmmm, so do the negatives out .weigh the positives with I/O? I've been contemplating if I did manage to buy a new boat if I would like the inboard. Maybe I should start a new thread.