Yamaha F200 vs Vmax sho

jsur

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I previously started the thread SPS vs ESP.  I certainly received the information I was looking for (very grateful in fact) and I am now debating my engine choice.  I figured I would start a new thread as the other one was really getting off topic.  I have a 2350 RBR on order currently with a Yamaha F200.  However, I am wondering if it worth the extra $$$ for the Vmax Sho.  I would consider the VF200 or possibly the VF225.  I have looked at the performance bulletins and see that there is only a few second difference in the 0-30 mph times on similarly equipped boats.  It also seems as if the there is a few mph difference on top end speed.  I am new to boating and watersports and I am wondering if this is 'real world' significant or the F200 will be more than enough.  I do plan on tubing and skiing and at times will likely have several 200+ pound men on board.  Is this worth the upgrade?  Thanks in advance.

If you're going to load the boat with 200+lb men, then go bigger. You don't have to use it all the time, but it's nice to have when you need the power.

I guess what I am asking, is there anybody that has driven similar boats with both motors and really noticed a difference? This would be like Tom's post about esp vs sps and he had tried both. I would prefer the better gas mileage if there is not really a perceivable difference.

I really liked my 200SHO. I was going to get another on my current boat because it was already totally past anything resembling my comfortable dollar amount, but the wife said get the 250 because she didn't want to hear me say "I wish we would have gotten the/a..........." ever again. Silly girl doesn't she know they make 350's and inboards? Hahaha. 250 is just bragging rights for me compared to anything else on my lake. I was quite pleased with how it held its speed with 11 passengers on it though.