2014 Q25 low max RPM and speed

Q25

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to Bennington's and pontoons but have had a few boats before including most recently a 21' center console. I just took delivery a few weeks ago of a new to me 2014 Q25 with a Yamaha F250XCA and a Yamaha SWS2 17"x15.5 prop, 400 hours. This has the EPS Tritoon package with lifting strakes. I just filled the gas tank with new ethanol free gas at the local marina. The engine sounds like it is running well but the performance and speed at the top end feels like it's just missing. At WOT I'm getting 24.3 mph by gps in good conditions and lightly loaded, with the motor at 4300 RPM. This seems way too slow, right? I calculated that this is 40%+ prop slip. It feels like it gets out of the hole well and operates well up to about to about 3000 RPM where it's getting about 21mph. Any ideas about things I should check out first or go about diagnosing? I'm wondering if I'm getting cavitation on the prop, or the VST system needs cleaned? Any other suggestions to look at?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Hmmm, it sounds to me that you’re in need of a new prop. I’ve got a similar setup (2016 2574 GCW with a 250 Verado) spinning a 15.6x13p prop which will generate 40+ MPH @ 6400 Rpm WOT. Sounds like you’re lugging your engine.

You might want to give Ken @ propgods.com a call for prop suggestions. Good luck and report back what happens.

Plus 1 for propgods.
Your RPM's are low ,should be 5800-6000 and hit about 40 MPH .
I have a 23 ft QCW with a 250 Verado, I can hit 45. 2 adults ,full tank and clean toons

I just checked the suggested prop chart that Bennington provides to dealers. With a F250XCA, on a 25ft the suggested prop is 15 3/4 X 15 Saltwater SDS.

Great, thanks for the suggestions! I'm going to try a new prop and report back. Good to know that this should be a 40+ mph boat, that's what I expected so I was surprised when it really didn't perform anywhere near that at WOT