2250 GBR Prop Question

whitacre

Reaction score
We just purchased a new 2250 GBR with a Yamaha 115 4 stroke and a 13.25 X 17 prop. My top speed is only about 21 MPH. My dealer says I should get 25 to 26 MPH. I think I should get at least 25 and maybe even a little more. My question is... Is the 13.25 X 17 prop the best for my set up? Would I be better off getting a larger diameter (maybe 13.75 or 14), or perhaps a different pitch of 15? Looking to get a little more performance. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Congrats on the boat and welcome aboard!

What hull configuration do you have? Two 25 inch tubes? Or maybe the smaller 23 inch tubes? I could see the 23 inchers riding low enough in the water to only get you that for a max speed, but I've not seen one person on this site with the small tubes yet. Your prop size doesn't feel right to me, but I'm no expert. Some of the other guys here will help you with this.

I have a 13.75 x 15p and the express package and get 35 mph from our 115.

Kaydano,

I have two 25 inch tubes. I get to my top speed of 21 at about 5500 rpm.

Hey Whitacre, yeah, you should be getting more for sure, my 90hp did 22-24. Take a look in the topic "list your specs here" and read through for what other people had for numbers, it's a great information tool.

17P isn't the right pitch for that motor. I would guess a 15P. Not sure on the diameter but I would think a little higher would be better.

I agree, too much pitch.

My original thought was to go with something like a 13.75 X 15. Would that be more likely to give me a little more MPH?

On my RL with a Yamaha 115 it came with an aluminum 13.5 x 15 and I get 26mph. Have a feeling that if you experiment you could even eek out a little more but for me 1 or 2 MPH is just not big a deal so I am happy with what I have