2250RL Performance Issues

WI-RiverRat

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm brand new to the Bennington forums, but I used to spend a lot of time over at PDB Forums years back.   Love the boat, the speed, not so much.  Should have held out for a 150HP, but it was a great deal and have had it for years.

Like the title says, we've got a 2250RL with a Mercury 4 Stroke 115HP.  It's always been a good runner, but never has had the performance numbers that it should.  I've never been able to get it up to 6000rpm.  I've had three different boats Outboard Tri-hull, I/O Deep V and now Outboard Pontoon and I know the "exact right" prop can make a world of difference....

When I bought the boat (used) it had a 15P Alum prop on it (Merc, I believe) I got the following speed vs. rpm curve.  Speed was gps.  The figures below are the average of a number of runs.

RPM     MPH

2000     7.9

2500     10.8

3000     14.6

3500     16.7

4000     19.6

4400     21.2 

I knew I needed to be a LOT closer to 6000rpm at WOT, motor was lugging etc.  So I changed to a 13P Merc Alum.  prop.  and get the following:

RPM     MPH

2000       7.8

2500       9.2

3000     13.3

3500     15.1

4000     17.6

4500     19.4

4800     21.2  (sometimes, with the wind 4900 to 5000rpm)

It runs better, but still not what it should be.  In looking at old test reports etc., pontoon waterglide, 3 rd toons etc all way too expensive I found lots of reports of 15P props and boats with 115HP clocking 24,- 28MPH.  A Yamaha report of a 2274GLi w/ a Yamaha 115 14.25 x 14 SS topped out at 27MPH.

Any thoughts or recommendations on props or other ideas?

Thanks in advance for your advice and ideas!   Looks like a great forum.

Welcome and do you have strakes? Are you sure the throttle is opening all the way. Without strakes you'll just be plowing through the water.