2275 ESP Speed Question

HO250

Reaction score
New 2011 2275 RCW ESP With a 250HO ETEC. Best Speed With 18P Viper Was 47MPH. 3/4 Tank Fuel Light Load 2 Adults. Little To No Trim Ran 6000 RPM Light Trim 6200 RPM, With little change in speed. Motor has only 7 hours on it. I thought it would run over 50mph. Is it possible the prop is slipping that much?? If so any ideas on a better choice of prop?? Motor mount heights did not change it at all. Any help would be great.

Last edited by a moderator:
I also have a 2011 2275 RCW esp and have a 250hp Yamaha SHO. Top speed so far with aluminum prop is 45mph. Can't remember the pitch but was hoping to hit 50mph. Perhaps with a change in pitch and possibly a SS prop, I may get there. There will be others responding soon to assist you.

Hello HO250 and welcome to the forum. You will probably get more responces to your guestion if you post in the general pontoon forum. I am not an expert but I will try and help. Allthough 47 mph isn't bad I agree with you that I think you should hit 50 with that motor. The thing that looks somewhat odd to me is that you are hitting 6000 rpms with trim all the way down and 6200 with trim up alittle. I would try a differant prop. Check with a local prop shop. Some of those guys will let you try out differant props. Or you could contact the guys at Power Tech props they can be very helpfull. Also is your speed checked with GPS or speedo?

I think you should probably have a bit more speed in that unit. I have a new 2574GLi ESP, which is several hundred pounds heavier, and with a 250 Pro Merc Verado, I am at 49 mph GPS with a 16" Enertia prop, spinning 6500 rpm. Yeah, I know I gotta get a bit more prop. But a toon running 50 looks pretty awesome though.