Bad Weld/Leaking Toon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boudreaux

Reaction score
Hello All, I am new to the Pontoon world, but been looking forward to owning one for some time now. We took delivery on a 2022 24LXSBA on July 1st. The dealer has been exceptional throughout the whole experience. We did a water test at the dealer on the day of delivery and I noticed a lot of water running from the port side toon. I didn't think much of it. I brought it straight to the lake and launched for some break in and weekend of cruising with the family. I never put it back on the trailer until Sunday, July 4th at about dark. The next morning I went outside to pack up and head home when I noticed water still dripping from the front of the port toon. I immediately knew something wasn't right. Upon closer inspection I noticed a cracked weld at the nose cone. I took a video and sent it to my dealer. They contacted Bennington and the toon will be replaced. I did some additional inspection once I arrived home and found it to be much worse than just a crack. It appears the weld may have been too hot and weakened the metal around the weld as it completely failed. My question is has anyone else seen this or experienced this? Should this have been caught by QC before it left the factory? After looking over the other welds there are a few that look like an amateur welded some of these. Just looking for thoughts. I do love the boat and over all I am very satisfied. Just a little disappointed.

Attachments

• Boat 1.jpg
    Boat 1.jpg
    148.2 KB · Views: 68
  • Boat 2.jpg
    Boat 2.jpg
    249.9 KB · Views: 67
  • image0.jpeg
    image0.jpeg
    75.2 KB · Views: 67
Hi,