Hoist guides

FightinIrish

Reaction score
I have a ShoreMaster hoist for my 21 SSRCX and I just realized this year that there is a small dent on the front right outer underside of the nosecone of the toon. It is most definitely from the toon hitting the side bumper of the hoist as I come in, which sits about 2 inches above the water when the hoist is lowered low enough for the boat to float. Any lower and they don't function to provide the lateral bumper action that they are supposed to serve. Any higher and the boat wouldn't make it into the hoist.

Does anyone have a similar issue? Has anyone mounted trailer guides on their hoist? If so, do you have a link? I'm trying to find a solution so that the deck/rub-rail hits something before the toons do.

We are in a big lake in NY with decent wind/waves and have a very narrow channel to get into the hoist, making getting the boat into the hoist quite a process each time - miss it and you're in big trouble.

I've attached a couple pictures of the side rails to try to explain the situation.

Thanks all!

Attachments

• side hoist 2.jpg
    side hoist 2.jpg
    105.5 KB · Views: 24
  • side hoist 3.jpg
    side hoist 3.jpg
    139.1 KB · Views: 24
  • side hoist.jpg
    side hoist.jpg
    161.6 KB · Views: 24
If the rails are just 2” above water, seems like you may need to raise the rail higher…which would mean replacing the vertical struts that connect the rail to the lift frame with longer struts.

I have a Hewitt lift, and added my own-built side rails, similar to what you have. At the entrance end, I added boards that are vertical, so the toon would be guided by this board, not necessarily the hor board that is 2” above water.

I really don’t think you want the rub rail to hit these guides when you approach the lift. It would just mark up the rub rail, which will be more noticeable than marking up the sides of the toons.

Thanks Joeb14 - I see you are on Skaneateles, we are next door on Owasco!