Ocean pontoon boating

Mdp228

Reaction score
Good afternoon.

Well it’s 95 degrees here in RI and I’m daydreaming of being out on the water next season. I have been boating for over 10 years (gave it up when the kids were born) now looking forward to getting back out on the water with family and friends. I have owned 2 boats. A 22’ Stingray cuddy cabin (used in the Narragansett bay of RI) then a 22’ Tige open bow wakeboarding boat with an inboard (used 100% in fresh water). When I paused my boating life triple pontoons had just hit the scene and man have they evolved. I want one badly! Definitely looking at a triple in the 24-26’ range. We want to load it up with friends, their kids, and all the gear that comes with that for some water skiing, wakeboarding, tubing, etc. I have a few questions and looking for a little guidance from folks living the “toon life”.

#1 how much horsepower do I need to pull up a “full figured” skier such as myself? 200? 350? My ski boat had 340 and did nicely but I know pontoons are much different then a heavy fiberglass hull.

#2 as mentioned earlier I live in RI. Anyone have experience pontooning in the bay? I will definitely be picking my days carefully because it can get pretty roudy out there but will we be safe in 3-4’ chop if we happen to encounter it or some weather rolls in?

#3 if I do go in salt water I will bring it home, give it a full rinse and engine flush but are there any other maintenance items I need to consider? Should I bottom paint the pontoons? It will never be in salt water for more than a day at a time.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.
See you out there ;0)