Please Help! - 115 prop

jlsusa

Reaction score
Thank you in advance for your recommendations

I'm new to Bennington and boat owning in general for that matter.  I have a 2275GFS with a 115 Yamaha and express tube with strakes.  I also have the added weight of Sea Legs.    I love the boat, but the top speed is really getting me down.  I went with the 115 vs 150 based on the manufacturing rep at the boat show telling me that I would get 30MPH.  Today, with myself and a few kids we hit 21 wide open by GPS.   

The current prop is a 13.5 x 12p  aluminum prop that was installed by the dealer.    At WOT I am hitting 5600RPM.   

We are a young family that enjoys using the boat for tubing and skiing.  All three kids,  all <100lbs, pop out of the water.  There is no problem with hole shot.   The boat is suiting our current needs just fine.  It is just a little depressing to have a $40K boat run full throttle at 20mph and then get the "thumbs up speed up" sign from my 8 yr old daughter to go faster while she skis.  

I've tried to educate myself on props.  I've read the performance bulletins, but of course I can't find the "exact" one for me.  About the only thing that I can tell is that every pontoon with a 115 has a higher top speed.  Could the Sea legs really be holding me back that much?   I suspect I need more pitch, but how many MPH can I realistically expect?

I know the 150 would have been a better choice, but it's too late.  Any prop recommendations for my needs would be greatly appreciated. 

I think you should try a 14 x 11p prop to get the rpms up at WOT.  I also think with sealegs and no underskin that is also holding you back. We have a 2275rl 3 tube with a 150 and it'll go 40 mph.