oldredm3

Reaction score
:) I ordered a brand new 2013 GSR 2550 (from Midwest Marine in Harrisonville Mo - Good guys BTW). I ordered it with out a stereo at all. Reason is that the Wet Sound upgrade was a 1 amp solution for everything (Mids/Highs and Sub) and it didnt have enough power. My goal was not huge volume but rather quality, crisp clear sound with no distortion or clipping. More Power is needed for this... I am an amateur but have done tons of research. I have also installed the 1000W all Alpine system in the Motor-home. I thought i could go higher quality for less money that the Wetsounds upgrade from Bennington and i was right!

That said on with the build!

First the boat came in with holes cut in the front loungers for 6.5" speakers but not the Elevated Helm (expected) and there wasn't a hole for the head unit (Not expected). So I had to do some fabrication of cutting in to the fiberglass to make it all work.

The Hardware Used - System power total spec 1800W RMS - has additional cooling fan blowing on this amp by request of Polk Audio. :D

• 1 Alpine CDA-9886M (With 4 volt pre outs - important on multiple amp solutions)
  • 2 sets Polk Audio MM6501 UM 6.5" separate speakers
  • 1 Used (New take out of r 2012 Chaparral) XXX S 12
  • 1 Polk PA D1000.1 (running at 1 ohm and 1300W RMS)
  • 1 Polk PA D4000.4 (running at 4 ohms and 125 W RMS per channel 125x4)
  • 1 ported 1.6 cu feet hard covered, Ported sub box (Has a hard plastic cover similar to the rhino liners in PU beds and claims water resistant)
  • 3 Optima Blues One cranking Blue and 2 Deep cycle Blues.)Dealer installed the battery's, breaker box and charger..
  • Bunch of wire, Connectors and a lot of patience. :D