Shallow Channel Access

joc0623

Reaction score
I recently purchased a lake home as well as a 2019 Bennington 23SX SSBXP tritoon with the SPS package (25" tubes). Our boat slip has access to the lake through a shallow channel from a small harbor area (see pic). The channel depth into/out of the harbor runs anywhere from 18-25' throughout. With a draft of approx 13" the tritoon will float in the channel with no issues but running the motor (even trimmed up) is not ideal as it stirs up sediment that I hate to have being circulated through the motor. I'd like to just keep the motor off and trimmed up and use a trolling motor to pull the boat through to get us to deeper water. Just curious if anyone has any thoughts on a good reasonably priced trolling motor. I am a newbie to boating so I'm open to any and all thoughts / suggestions!

Attachments

• Shallow channel access.JPG
    Shallow channel access.JPG
    137.8 KB · Views: 48
Last edited:
Keep a eye on your impeller ,you may want to change it more often than is recommended

How do your neighbors handle this? Have any of them had engine problems as a result? With engine trimmed up and slow speed I wouldn’t think that much sediment gets stirred up.
how long of a ride in the channel till reach deep water?

Even though my motor is much smaller, a props a prop. At idle speed I’ve gone as shallow as 12” or so without stirring up sediment. I’ve trimmed my motor up to be safe in the mud flats, but at low rpm I’ve had no issues.

How do your neighbors handle this? Have any of them had engine problems as a result? With engine trimmed up and slow speed I wouldn’t think that much sediment gets stirred up.
how long of a ride in the channel till reach deep water?