Ski Tow Bar

syester

Reaction score
I have a 2012 22SLX with the extended aft deck. When I purchase it, I could not get the heavy duty rub rail and ski tow bar together. I went with the heavy duty rub rail and planned on using the lugs on the tubes. This is how I am currently towing. I do not like this way because the rope gets caught on engine latch and I have to watch out for the prop. I've seen some posts that say not to use them. How did they connect ski ropes before ski tow bars? TB said to use the two u-bolts that are in front of the engine, but my fuel hoses and steering assist lines are in the way. I was on Benningtons web site and noticed they now offer a ski tow bar with heavy duty rub rail. I called my dealer, which contacted Bennington for pricing and they said it would be $750 and three weeks out. I am a steamfitter/welder by trade so building one would not be an issue. Does anyone have pictures of a ski tow bar installed on an extended aft deck with heavy duty rub rails. I am planning on building one, so any dimensions would be great. TB do you have a dimensional cut sheet or cad file for one of these? I would like to make sure that I install per benningtons requirements so I do not void any warranties.

I currently use airheads rope harness and booster ball. I have the harness that you attached and will probably use this weekend.

How does that harness connect? Do you just hook each clip to the outside toons lugs and the harness comes together behind the motor like a v shape?

It would go to the u-bolts on either side of the motor and then just wrap around. I've not actually used it on my Benny as I have a pylon now.

I hook it to the toon lugs. The u-bolts put the harness into the hydraulic hoses from the steering assist. This is why I am needing pictures or dimensions of a ski tow bar with a heavy duty rub rail.

How about a pic of what your boat looks like in the stern? It would help to figure out what you need.