Blue LED light illegal in FL?

bankerii

Reaction score
Was anchored up in the lake watching fireworks on the 4th and had my blue LED lights on. Marine patrol pulled up and told me I had to turn the led's off because external blue lights are reserved for law enforcement in the state of FL. I was told it was illegal to have them on even while anchored.

Anyone ever heard of this? I know your not suppose to have them on while running, but I thought it was OK while anchored.

I call BS on the Marine Patrol.

Nowhere in the State of Florida Boating laws do I read it's illegal to have Blue led lights, what it says is blue FLASHING or ROTATING lights ...... just more overzealous (jealous ??) marine patrol .........

I would politely ask them to state the statute/law that specifically states his concern ......

Last edited by a moderator:
I would have to say that they are not illegal. I am no lawyer but I also read the statute and it says (prohibiting the use of certain blue lights by any person other than an authorized law enforcement officer). Key words Certain Blue Lights. And it says (term “flashing or rotating blue light” includes all forms of lights which display a blue light source or which were designed with the intent of displaying a blue) here I believe they are talking about any blue light that is only flashing or rotating. I do travel to Fort Lauderdale quite a bit and that is the boating capital of the world and when you see all the yachts on the waterways, a lot of them have blue lights for mood lighting that is visible. Hope this helps and remember it is just my interpretation.