Team Bennington - What can I use to remove registration Sticker?

bankerii

Reaction score
What does Team Bennington recommend for removal of registration sticker residue without damaging the paint? Registration sticker was pulled off and now I have square with the word "void" printed over and over. It's not just glue I can scrape off, it's going to require chemical removal. What can I use that won't damage the paint? (acetone, gasoline, goof off, nail polish remover?) - these all seem harsh and I don't want to damage the boat. Can you provide some advice?

Thanks,

Don't know what TB will recommend but I use regular ol' paint thinner and it works fine. Apply a coat of wax after and you can't tell it was ever there.

Try Ronsonol lighter fluid like you would use for a cigarette lighter. I have been using that stuff for 35 years and I never damages anything. It is fantastice for removing anything with an adhesive. Great stuff.

Auto parts stores have decal and adhesive removers, they shouldn't harm the finish, follow up with a good wash and a coat of wax.
I used a decal remover from advance auto parts and it soften and ruined the paint on the little area I tested. Test your product first.

Goo Gone.

Warm it with a hair dryer first to make it easier.

Thanks Eric...try the heat gun or blow dryer first and you should be able to rub the decal off. A bit of Goo Gone or diluted DC99 (a great black streak remover, by the way) should take care of any residual gunk. If it's a much older boat (10 years plus) you might have a bit of a challenge.