2015 Newbie Questions

MCSD12

Reaction score
I am brand new to boating this season and I have been reading tons from this forum but I still have a few questions I need help with.

1. how do you attach ski rope or towable rope to ski pylons on centerline of boat? (I read not to use u-bolts on frame)
  2. What do you use for navigation after dark? I was considering a Q-Beam spotlight.
  3. I noticed a few pics of a front exit plank for when you are beached. Is that worthwhile?
  4. Want to add American flag to boat either on stern swim platform or on bimini light. Will those hold up to speeds or do you have to remove when underway?
  5. What size anchor should I have for a 2575 I/O? I saw a post about the box type anchor that looked very appealing.

Welcome. The box anchor pretty much wins out in the popularity contest <I think. If you have the ski pylon, which we do, I just drop the loop end of the rope down over the knob on top of the pylon and have never had it pull off. A good handheld spotlight is a must after dark. I would think the Q beam would be a good purchase. I do not have the front plank but several owners do and perhaps will chime in. I don't currently have a flag but do plan to get one. Several of the guys and gals have clip on's on the anchor light and mounted on the aft platform. They both work and look very good.

Again welcome to the greatest forum on the net.

David

re: after dark

Something we do if we're going to go someplace and get back to the dock after dark.  Use a GPS tracking application when we leave... then when getting ready to head home you can just follow your earlier track from when you left the dock back to the dock.  If you're familiar with where you're going to be boating no big deal but we've used it to follow our way back down river keeping safely in the middle or taking the correct turn around this or that island to get back home.