Cathodic protection?

Tin Diesel

Reaction score
With my boat in the shop for what I hope is a minor repair, I'm looking around for other ways to spend money on it (not)!

Its a 2007 Mercury I/O and has always been on a freshwater lake in Texas, and always stored out of the water - on a lift when my brother owned it, and now on a trailer.
When I got it in 2017, the skeg had some minor corrosion which I sanded down and fixed - no problems since.
There are some anodes on the stern drive - but I'm not an expert in these things.

Anyway, my question is this. We're thinking that a couple of times a year we may want to take the boat down to Clear Lake / Galveston Bay or Matagorda Bay (brackish water, I think, although Galveston Bay and Matagorda Bay will be more salt than Clear Lake).

Do I need to worry about adding cathodic protection - or maybe the Mercathode system? I know to rinse everything afterward, especially since my trailer isn't galvanized.
Any suggestions?

Nobody ever answered this, so I thought I would try again.
We're taking our boat to Orange Beach AL for a week this fall, where it will be in a rented boat slip in salt water for six days or operating in salt-water environments.

This is a fresh-water boat, and I know nothing about cathodic protection. There's a few anodes on it now.

Do I need to worry about this for just one week? I won't be able to flush everything until we get home to Houston but I know I need to do a thorough flush then.
Thanks.

I don't know anything about this....but i had a waverunner sitting on a jet port in salt water for 2 weeks a few years back.... the jet port was too short for my waverunner and the pump was sitting in the water. After the 2 weeks, there was some significant decay on the pump nozzle on nose cone (enough that they needed to be replaced). Somebody told me it was from stray current from an adjacent ski, but I'm not sure.