Hoist Size

Lone_Star

Reaction score
Hi All!

So in prep of the new Bennington I am getting concerned about the proper hoist weight. I am looking at 4000 lb capacity hoist (craftlander, lakeshore or Great Lakes Lift)

Boat: 2250 GSR, with 115hp. Captain: 230 lbs. Co-Captain: 120

Thanks for any insight.......

I have a 4500 craftlander which is new this season and I have mixed feelings. It is built like a brick sh!t house but it makes a very very very load screeching/groaning noise when lifting and lowering the boat. Craftlander has been out and looked at it and they say it is normal and will "break-in" They also state the aluminum bunks and the toons of the boat amplify any vibration. Not very happy and if it doesn't break in soon I'll be getting back with them. I'll get a video soon so you can be the judge. 

Thanks for the feedback for this TOTAL Noob :) . Thanks Bill N, I was thinking it should be enough. I was considering Craftlander as my neighbor has one, but not liking that it makes a lot of noise on yours lakeliving. Lots of neighbors have Great Lakes Lifts as well and Lakeshore. This is crazy how hard it is to find good info on lifts. 

Thanks Lake Living; I don't like to hear of your problems, but did just find Max systems. There docks seem very stout. Hoping next week to side by side Great Lakes Lift to the Max system. I do know my neighbors system is very old, so maybe its a misbuild of a new system you have. Hopefully it gets fixed soon..

Want to arm wrestle Carl?

As for the lift, I am looking into replacing the pulley bolts with ones where there is a built in zerk fitting. We'll see how that goes.

Want to arm wrestle Carl?

As for the lift, I am looking into replacing the pulley bolts with ones where there is a built in zerk fitting. We'll see how that goes.
The pulleys on our lift have the grease fittings in them.