BOW SAFETY CHAIN

floves

Reaction score
My pontoon trailer did not come with a safety chain and I would like to get one in case the winch strap breaks. I've looked at Overton's but can't find one, anyone have any ideas where to get one? I have a Trailmaster trailer but I haven't had any luck getting through to anyone. When I bought my setup I was told by dealer I didn't need a safety chain. I also like to find out what people use for rear tie downs.

I found one interesting thing from another manufacturer of trailers (ShoreLand'r), "Bow eye safety chains are not supplied on pontoon trailer models, because pontoon trailers are only offered in bunk style". What does this mean? Thanks.

Bunk style is where the potoons sit on top of the trailer bunks....they're cradles if you will....vs. the older style trailers that have those arsm tucked underneath and inbetween the logs (pontoons).

I would continue to use the chain of command at the manufacturer and get the saftey chain. I bought a new Loadrite trailer two years ago for my tritoon (expensive as heck) and it came with one.

As far as rear straps I use those straps that, after you tighten the strap, you further tighten and lock it by folding down the hardware portion by one end and then the end of the strap gets folded and tucked neatly in a velcro piece to conceal it. I use that setup for securring the stern to my trailer. Pretty sure that's the best option; strong and neat.

I always used a safety chain on my other pontoon. At 65 mph, I did not trust "just" the winch strap.

You can always make your own with soe chain, a heavy duty bolt and one of those chain links that screw open. Just a thought.

I also used the tie downs Keith found.

Thanks for the responses, with regards to the rear transom tie down's, what size did you guys buy? I see they come 2', 4', and 6' lengths.