Depth finder problems

Randy Cantrell

Reaction score
Hey folks. I have a 2013 22sslk tritoon with a mercury 115. I have a Hummingbird 385ci Combo that at speeds of 25mph or above starts giving me wild readings spiking to extremely deep readings to extremely low readings. The dealer told me it was a common problem with pontoons. I don't buy that and what use is it if you can't depend on it at higher speeds? Anyone have any ideas?

Try to adjust height up or down 1/4" increments. A standard transducer must be in "water" to work, you are probably getting air under it.... Also see if the sensitivity setting can be adjusted as that might help.

I'm new to these things as we don't fish and have not used Sonar. My Garmin loses lock (flashes depth reading) as it gets shallow abut 4' or less. Once it finds water deep enough to auto range down a click it locks right Back on. I've fiddled with the gain and other settings to no avail. High speed and deeper water is no problem on mine, works like a champ. It is the P66 tri-ducer which is much bigger than the Garmin 100 one I replaced and dual frequency 50/200 kHz. Suggestions?

I know it sounds dumb, but it doesn't have a "minimum depth" setting does it. I have mine set with a 3' alarm. Nice thing with the toon is I can get into water about 18" deep.

I know it sounds dumb, but it doesn't have a "minimum depth" setting does it. I have mine set with a 3' alarm. Nice thing with the toon is I can get into water about 18" deep.
Yeah I thought of that. I turned all of the alarms off and it was the same. I'm a littler puzzled. Maybe I should start adjusting the angle and depth of the transducer but its a pain to trial and error that when you don't know what you're doing. Weird that its at low speed so turbulence is low and the transducer is buried underwater.