Express Tube questions for my boat

fiddlebick

Reaction score
Hi Folks!   I just registered on this forum this morning although I have browsed several times.  I own a 25 ft RFS with a 135 Honda four stroke, 2003 model.  It is more boat than I was looking for last spring, but we love the length and luxury of our Benny.  I have been following the thread on this forum of the express tube project and I am thinking about doing one too.  Currently I can get 24 mph gps at wot, and I would hope to get 30 mph with the tube add on.  I am against the wall on several issues however, since my boat is longer and heavier, and the 135 is pretty heavy too.  Can anybody give me an idea as to whether I can expect 30mph with the third tube?  I am very new to boating, so I want to pick kthe minds of more experienced pontooners....  Also if I could get 30mph, I don't think strakes on the express tube will really help me much...again, longer, heavier boat vs. available horsepower.  Looking forward to the chats on this forum.  John.

3G13Lf3I15Lc5Gf5J1d594173d903175f1416.jpg

You didn't say what you plan to do with your boat.  Do you carry heavy loads (people?)  Are you pulling tubers or doing water sports?  Are you just looking for a faster straight line cruise and better fuel economy?

Getting an extra 5 mph will require your nosecones out of the water.  If you don't need the better handling or weight carrying capabilities of a straked express tube, installing a set of OEM strakes on your two toons might do the job for you. 

Fiddlebick,