Help with prop selection

8mk

Reaction score
I just purchased a used 22 Bennington 23LFBC with the ESP center toon and a Mercury 250 4S 25" with a Enertia 15.6 X 13P prop. I think the previous owner must have said that they were going to do a lot of water sports as I feel the Pitch is a tad low. With the boat at 20 gals of fuel and 340 lbs ( my wife and I ) of beef aboard no cooler just normal boat stuff and trimmed up I got my 6000 RPM but I thought the speed of 40 MPH GPS was a tad low. I am new to the tritoon world as I have always had runabouts and I realize I am pushing a brick through the water but I keep hearing of tritoon owners getting high 40's or 50 out of a 250 mercury. I was also wondering if anyone is using the enertia ECO on a mercury 250 merc that could chime in. I boat on Watts bar lake if there are any friends out there. I would love to try some different props also but because I didn't buy this boat locally the dealers around here treat you like a step child. Thanks for any info as it would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
By the way I forgot to tell all that I mostly want to cruise and get better gas mileage if possible.

The F250 is their normal fourstroke 250 out of the 3 250's they offer. lower end.

The F250 is their normal fourstroke 250 out of the 3 250's they offer. lower end.
Sorry ,Ive never seen the F designation used on a Mercury .

I tried to use the prop selector on the performance tab but my pitch is lower than what is offered as 15P is the lowest it goes and mine is a 13P.

My first question when someone is not getting the speed they think they should is...How clean are you toons? Growth build-up on the toons can rob you of 10 MPH on your top end. I've experienced it.

13p on a 250 Mercury is way too low of pitch. That’s just totally off base.