New to Ultra Legs

DiamondDave952

Reaction score
Hello All. Just signed a purchase agreement on a 2021 SSBX with 115hp, two toons and Ultra legs. I am new to ultra legs and would like to know the following...
1. When you dock your pontoon for the night or weekend, do you extend the legs so they are vertical? Or can you leave the back legs fully extended (vertical position) and the front legs slightly extended so that the pontoon is leveled? Will this put a lot of stress on the legs and hydraulics? Any insight is greatly appreciated.

I’ve got Sea Legs on mine and have always raised the boat to no more than 8” or so above the water slightly higher at the front (my front deck is covered by the mooring cover so this way I don’t get water draining into the boat). The guy who delivered our boat gave me this advice as someone who’d had Sea Legs for 20 years. You don’t want to be to far out of the water as it makes it easier for wind to get under the boat and tip it over. Our boat sits this way from May thru September and has the last 5 years with no issues. The pic is from when we had to leave the boat for 3 weeks a few years back.
73BA876E-E639-4A47-AAD3-C1F1392F96B7.jpeg

Thanks for the feedback and sharing the advice about not extending the legs fully as wind can get underneath and flip the boat.

I too have the Sea Legs. I was given the above advise directly from Sea Legs when we added them on our 2017 Benny in 2019. I would assume it is the same for the Ultra Legs, but no harm in just giving them a call directly or emailing them. Congratulations on the boat and Ultra Legs. I am much happier with these than I was with our covered lift. Hopefully they will work out great for you too.

Last edited:
Solid advice above! You will love having legs. It’s the best invention for a pontoon since the pontoon was invented!! ;)

Last edited:
Hello, I have Ultra Legs on 2019 22' GSR, two toons, with 115 Yamaha.