Performance ?

ronfl

Reaction score
I recently sold my 2275 RL with a 90HP Yamaha. I'm now looking at several boats to replace it and have some questions. We boat on lake that is about 130 miles long. The 90 HP 2275 RL is a great boat but we were always looking for more speed and cruising power. My first thought is another 23' to 25' boat with a 150. I just looked at a 2575 RL with a 5.0 L V8. I have very mixed feelings on a IO in a pontoon. How will this perform compared to an outboard. Is the extra weight of the IO worth it? I realize the motor is just part of the equation!

Last edited by a moderator:
Well, one good thing is you get free power steering. B) Seriously, you'll probably love the HP increase over the 90 but maintenance will be more costly on the i/o. It's harder to work on the motor in a little box but while under warranty, who cares. Enjoy whatever you find.

I've had no I/O experience in a tritoon, however I'm on my second I/O on a deep V open bow boat. I/O's are nice when they're new, however maintenance gets very expensive after a few years. And I/O's are very, very difficult to work on tritoons due to there being less shoulder room in a toon than in a 8' wide fiberglass hull.

Tritoons are very susceptible to heavy weights in the rear, and modern outboards put out so much power--pound for pound. There are some I/O tritoon boats out there that are very fast, however they're also incredibly expensive investments.

Our lake has many straight inboard mahogany runabouts from the 40's, 50's and 60's, and they seem to last forever. Have you ever noticed how marine salvage yards are packed full of perfectly good I/O hulls with the engines out of them? And, they're never re-engined.