Prop question again!

ronfl

Reaction score
OK I realize prop questions are asked here many, many, many times but I am very new to Mercury am in need of assistance. I just purchased a 2010 2550 with a mercury 150 optimax. It has a quicksilver prop and it measures 8" from center of nut to outside of prop fin and it says its a 2008P15 so I assume it's a 16" with 15 pitch. Not sure what the 2008 is? Toon is a double with 25" and lifting strakes and under deck shield. Test drove the boat on smooth water with 4 adults and 1/2 tank of gas. Really smooth and handles the toon well. Issue is the max RPM was around 4800. I believe this motor should be in the 5400 RPM range at top end? If so would 4 adults take that many RPM away or is the motor over propped? Any suggestions or advice.

150 opti runs between 5250 and 5750 for rpm. I have a 2275 rcw with twin elips and run a 15" Enertia prop and hit right about 5600 with my 150 opti pro xs. You have a larger boat then I do and may need to drop to a 14" or 13" pitch to get the rpms up to the recommended range

Todd

I too agree with above. You should be looking at the Enertia props which are available every inch of pitch so you can fine tune your prop exactly. The Enertia is simply the standard of the industry for pontoons.

You might see if the dealer would let you take a 13 and a 14 props with you to the water and return one. Try the 13 pitch first to see what rpm's it pulls. It should be the one for you.

Which model are we dealing with here........2 tuber or tritoon?

We stopped at a local Bennington dealer this weekend. I was surprised by what I learned. We are all heading the wrong direction! The owners son set out to school me on pontoon performance LOL! He proceeded to tell me that he sold a 25 R model two tuber (25") w/strakes and a Mercury Opti 150 that runs 45mph on gps. When I posed a question to him he smugly stated that "I think I've sold enough Benningtons to know". I bit my tongue.